Month: January 2013

Tips and the Minimum Wage

As of 2016, the Massachusetts minimum wage is $10.00/hour.  See M.G.L. c. 151, s. 1.  Employees who earn tips, however, can be paid a “service rate” of $2.63/hour so long as they earn at least $20 in tips each week.  However,…

Unpaid Sales Commissions in Massachusetts

The Massachusetts Wage Act, which provides plaintiffs with triple damages and attorneys’ fees for successful unpaid wage claims, also applies to commissions. M.G.L. c. 149, s. 148 states: This section shall apply, so far as apt, to the payment of commissions…